Perfumed Letters

Reading the scent trail of fragrance and words

Updates on Perfume and Pages

8 Comments

booksbooksbooks

Fragrant Readers,

I’m checking in after a long hiatus to say that despite my silence of many months here in the blogoshere, I’ve kept busy reading, speaking, and writing about perfume. Most of my perfumed work in recent months was entwined with academic life. In fall I taught my new dream course, “Senses of Fiction.” I gave a talk called “Skin Deep” (on women and perfume at the fin-de-siècle ) at a recent Nineteenth-Century French Studies conference. My article “The Scent Trail of ‘Une Charogne'”  hit the press a few months ago. In the planning stages: an interactive perfume lecture at a local boutique.

Next Friday I’ll be speaking on “Perfumed Letters: A Roundtable Discussion of Perfume and Literature” at George Washington University. Check out the entire schedule here: Perfumed Letters. As you can see, I’ll be in excellent company. We will be talking about the many ways in which our perfumes and our pages have met.

The weekend events will culminate in readings and book signings by Alyssa Harad (Coming to My Senses)  and Holly Dugan (The Ephemeral History of Perfume). Click here for more information.

Join us if you are in the D.C. area!

covers,jpeg

8 thoughts on “Updates on Perfume and Pages

  1. I check in every week, so am pleased to see you have posted again! And clearly the perfume theme is very much alive in your day job. Shame I don’t live closer…;)

    • Thank you so much, Vanessa, for checking in after all these months. I do wish we lived closer. Which is all the more reason for me to keep chatting here. One of these days a trip to the UK will bring me in close proximity, I’m sure of it! Meanwhile I need to catch up on your recent visit with Portia, the struggles of opening Bvlgari caps (I have a mini on which I simply gave up–am hoping your post will save me), and–tea towels!

  2. Great update Cheryl. You are doing the real world well. Looking forward to your World Tour!

  3. Friday’s panel was such a treat. It was great to be in the company of those smart women with a shared passion for perfume, smell culture, literature. On to Alyssa’s event later today.

  4. I have just discovered your blog, great work, I will visit again! :)

Go ahead--talk amongst yourselves! Reactions, advice, ramblings or a little "hello"--all welcome here:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers